Gecko Safety


Hello everyone! It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? Almost a whole month! But I’ve been super busy with school. On to the important stuff, though. Today I’d like to discuss gecko safety (which will probably count for pretty much any reptile, but I’m aiming it more toward leopard geckos).

Leopard geckos can be pretty curious little creatures, so it’s really important to keep them safe. I’ve had a few scares with Sammy, and I’d like to help other people prevent these mistakes from happening. (Don’t worry, she hasn’t ever actually fallen or gotten hurt, but she has come close to it a couple of times).

Housing Safety

The first and foremost thing when it comes to a safe habitat is a screen cover. You don’t want your gecko to escape. Now, if you don’t have tall decor in your enclosure, you’d probably be fine without a cover, because leopard geckos can’t climb walls, but it’s always better to be safe than sorry.

Handling Safety

While handling your gecko, it is best to do so close to a surface. I wouldn’t recommend holding your gecko standing up unless he/she is extremely tame and isn’t jumpy. Sammy is usually fine being handled, but there is always the possibility that she will get jumpy, so I always sit down when I hold her.

Another important thing to note about holding a leopard gecko is to be careful of their tail. If you handle their tail roughly, they might drop it. This would leave an open wound, and could lead to infection. To prevent that from happening, I don’t really tug or pull on Sammy’s tail. (I mean, that wouldn’t be very nice to do anyway. It’s kind of like pulling someone’s hair: it hurts).

Pet Safety

Never leave your gecko (or any other reptile) alone with any other animal that has the potential to hurt either animal. This could lead to injuries or even death.

..::||::..::||::..::||::..::||::..::||::..

Again, sorry it’s been so long since I’ve blogged! I’ve been super busy. I got my wisdom teeth out on Valentine’s day, and I’ve been sick since then.

If you have any requests for a future post, let me know in the comments below!

Sincerely,

Erin!

Leave a Reply

