Mealworm Rant


Hey guys!

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything on GGB, but I’m back! Today I’d like to rant about mealworms, or as I like to call them, “mealies.”

Now, back a couple years ago when I first started researching about reptiles, I was extremely confused about tons of stuff: sand or no sand, UTH or heat lamp, crickets or mealworms? After over two and a half years of researchย beforeย I got Sammy, and now one more year of owning him, I know quite a bit more than I did back then.

When I first started researching, the first care sheet I read spoke of how mealworms can eat their way out of your reptile. I’d like to say that that is a bunch of baloney. (I’ve always wanted to be able to say that!) I’d also like to point out that mealworms are Sammy’s staple diet, and he has never been injured by a mealie.

When a leopard gecko (or pretty much any other reptile) eats a mealie, the worm is usually crushed by the reptile eating it, so it’s basically guaranteed to be killed right away, or at least they are always crushed when Sammy eats them. Since I’ve only had one reptile all my life, I’d like to point out that this is the only way I’ve ever observed a mealie being eaten.

Second of all, even if the insect isn’t killed right away, stomach acid will kill it before the mealie could even begin to eat its way out of a gecko’s body. So this proves that mealworms aren’t going to eat its way through your beloved pet.

I just wanted to rant about that, because it annoys me when people tell newbies not to feed their reptiles mealworms.

Now, onto my usual randomness, I’m probably going to be extremely inactive on the Bellaire Basenji blog. I feel really bad about it, but I hardly even have time for GGB as a high school student, as well as an aspiring music artist. I guess I will post pictures of my dog every so often for now, but that’s probably all for awhile.

And awhile ago I said something about my style blog on Tumblr, but I’m about to delete Beauty Scene 17. Sorry! I’m not sure if any of you guys follow it, but it’s just too much to deal with!

However, I will be starting a different Tumblr blog for personal fun. It’ll probably just be updates about my music and life, and a ton of reblogging. This is all my choice, so I’m really sorry if the GGB readers liked my original Tumblr, but I honestly had no fun with it.

I’ve got to go, but thanks so much for reading my little rant!

Sincerely,

Erin ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

