DIY Snuggle Sack


Hey everyone! I was really bored yesterday, and decided to watch random YouTube videos all day, and I came across someone who used a snuggle sack for their blue tongue skink. Yeah, a snuggle sack. Those things ferrets sleep in, along with many other various small pets. I thought that maybe I could just make one! So guess what? I did!

It was really easy to make, even though I had to sew it all by hand because we don’t have a sewing machine. (But that’s alright with me!)

What You’ll Need

  • Three pieces of cloth (preferably in a square or rectangle shape)
  • Sewing needle or sewing machine (either way works just fine)
  • Thread
  • Stuffing (optional)

What to Do

  1. Take two of the pieces of cloth, and put one on top of the other. (If they have a design on them that you want showing, put the designs facing each other).
  2. Sew around three edges, leaving one side open.
  3. For extra “plush” on the bottom layer, take your last piece of cloth and sew it to the rest of the snuggle sack, again leaving one side open.
  4. (Optional) Stuff one of the open flaps
  5. Sew the stuffed flap shut by only stitching one of the cloth’s tops to it. (This way you don’t have two openings).
  6. Flip your creation inside out so the seem is inside.

Ta-da! You’re finished! I’ll probably upload a picture of Sammy inside of his snuggle sack later.

Now what do you use your snuggle sack for? personally use it for when I’m on my laptop in my bedroom. I’ll let Sammy crawl inside of it, and then he just sits on my lap while I type or do whatever I need to do. The nice thing about using a snuggle sack, is that you can have your reptile (or pretty much any small animal) close to you, without actually having to hold them or watch them really closely. If you choose your cloth colors wisely, you can have a nice dark spot that your reptile will enjoy.

I don’t know if it’s just Sammy being as weird as Sammy usually is, but he seems to enjoy sleeping in his. He’ll just curl up in it and fall asleep on my lap, just as he is doing right now!

So, I hope you guys liked this DIY, even though not all reptiles will enjoy it.

See you next time!

Sincerely,

Erin 😀

Leave a Reply

