Change of Plans! D.I.Y. Jar Hide


Okay! So there has been a slight change of plans for the D.I.Y. thing. I was going to show you how to make a double hide, but that was rather big and bulky. So I got to thinking, “What if there isn’t enough room in my readers’ enclosures for this? Oh no!” I came up with a simple, but equally adorable, jar hide. It’s very simple, but depending on how you decorate it, it can be very elegant.

I made mine camo and glow-in-the-dark zebra, but you can make yours whatever color you like!

Things You’ll Need

  • Glass jar
  • Duct tape
  • Scissors

How To Make It

  1. Remove the lid from the jar.
  2. Cut a long strip of duct tape.
  3. Wrap the middle of the jar with the tape.
  4. Cut another strip of duct tape.
  5. Wrap this strip just above the middle strip.
  6. Cut yet another strip of tape.
  7. Wrap this just below the middle strip.
  8. This time, cut two short pieces of duct tape.
  9. Tape them together.
  10. Cut a circle shape out of the combined square that is big enough to cover the bottom of your jar.
  11. Place the circle on the bottom.
  12. Cut one last strip of duct tape.
  13. Wrap the middle of the jar again.
  14. Put the lid back on the jar if wanted. (Only do this if the lid already has a hole in it. If not, don’t cut a hole in the lid, as it could be sharp and possibly cut your gecko.)

Ta-da! You’re done!

Here’s what mine looks like:

D.I.Y. Jar HideD.I.Y. Jar HideD.I.Y. Jar HideD.I.Y. Jar HideIf you want, you can decorate it even more! I decided to use these colors because camo is natural looking (kind of, not really) and I like zebra print. Have fun with it!

Sincerely,

Erin

 

 

Leave a Reply

