DIY: Reptile Report Book


I finally got enough time to make something I’ve always wanted to do for my wee Sammy: a Reptile Report Book!

What is a Reptile Report Book? It’s very simple. It’s a book filled with records of your reptiles! Today, I’m going to teach you how to make one.

What You’ll Need:

  • Three ring binder of your choice
  • Loose-leaf paper
  • Pencil or pen

Now What?

  1. First off, I fill my binder with the paper.
  2. Next, I write on the first page, “Table of Contents” but I leave the rest of that page blank. Number the bottom of that page i.
  3. On the next page, at the top write your reptile’s name. If you have more than one, I’ll tell you what to do later on.
  4. On the same page, write the type of species, the Latin name, the morph, the gender, estimated or exact date of birth, adoption date, staple diet, weekly treat (if you give your pets treats weekly, like I do,) and then notes about this reptile. Number the bottom of this page 1.
  5. On the next page, write, “Normal Schedule Guidelines” and then fill in that page the schedule. Number the bottom of that page 2.
  6. On the following sheet, write, “Travel Schedule Guidelines.” This is for any petsitters who care for your reptiles while you are on vacation. My travel schedule is different than normal, but yours might be the same. Number the bottom of this page 3.
  7. If there is anything you need to specify about their schedules or care, do so on the next couple of pages. Number accordingly.
  8. Finally, the reports begin! You don’t have to title this page, but I titled mine, “The Reports Begin! (Sammy)” Number accordingly. Daily, I write how much he eats, if he poops, if he sheds, and pretty much anything else that you might need to keep record of, such as weight.
  9. Record daily.
  10. Fill in your table of contents accordingly.

If you have more than on reptile, you can keep multiple report books, OR you could leave many pages between reptiles. Since it’s your book and records, it’s up to you!

I just started my Reptile Report Book a couple days ago, so it’s pretty empty right now.

Have fun!

Sincerely,

Erin 😀

Leave a Reply

