Party Animals… Literally


PLEASE NOTE: This post has nothing to do with reptiles in anyway. Just a little heads up πŸ˜‰

So yesterday was my best friend’s birthday part, although her actual birthday is on the 3rd. Her name is Maggie, and she LOVES horseback riding. For her party, she invited lots of people to go horseback riding, and it was SOOOOO much fun!

Being somewhat-sheltered, I haven’t actually been horse riding before. Sure I’ve done those silly little pony rides at petting-zoos, and I’ve ridden on a lead line, but that was my true first time riding freely. I rode a paint horse named GG, and she is the sweetest animal ever.

First we had a mini-lesson that lasted about 45 minutes. We walked and trotted, but sadly, we weren’t allowed to canter because 1) we were mostly all beginners, and 2) there were many horses in an inside arena, so it was kind of crowded. We did an obstacle course, where we weaved through cones, walked (or trotted) over a super duper short railing about a half foot tall, then grabbed a whip out of a bucket and then placed it in another bucket.

During the obstacle course, I had a bit of trouble with the whips, because GG has a fear of them. I do not know WHY but she refused to go near them, so I was allowed to skip that part of the course. (Lucky me!)

Next we did an egg and spoon contest on horseback. We had to keep the egg on the spoon while first walking, still going through the obstacle course other than the part with the whips, and then trotting it. Although I was a complete beginner, I WON! Yay me!

We played other games, too, but those were my favorites, as they had to do with horses. I’ve always wanted to take riding lessons, so it was truly fun!

I’m sorry this was so random and had nothing to do with geckos or reptiles, but I just thought I’d write about it πŸ˜‰

Sincerely,

Erin

GG is a somewhat short paint horse, and I instantly fell in love with her when I first rode her. I might start begging for riding lessons now ;)

GG is a somewhat short paint horse, and I instantly fell in love with her when I first rode her. I might start begging for riding lessons now πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

